Heat v Scorchers Preview

17 December 2012

Round 3: Brisbane Heat (1-1, 6th) v Perth Scorchers (1-2, 7th)

Tuesday 18 December 2012 at the Gabba

6.30pm start Queensland time; live on FoxSports from 6pm

Head-To-Head: Heat 0, Scorchers 1

Overall BBL Record: Heat 4 wins 5 losses, Scorchers 7 wins 5 losses

Big Guns, Heat: Kemar Roach, Thisara Perera. Scorchers: Herschelle Gibbs, Shaun Marsh

Big Losses, Heat: Mitchell Johnson, Scorchers. Mitchell Marsh

Formline: The Scorchers have been a mess since their infamous Champions League campaign in October. Under intense scrutiny for a big night during the series in which they were beaten three times and won only their final game, the Scorchers have been erratic through their opening three BBL matches. There was a solid loss to Adelaide, a terrible loss to Melbourne Stars, but then a brilliant win over Sydney Sixers on Sunday night. 

In contrast, the Heat had control for much of their opening contest against Hobart until a few wayward overs cost them dearly, and were strong with bat and ball in the important win over Adelaide last Thursday.

Big Danger: Opener Herschelle Gibbs largely took the Scorchers to last year's BBL final on the back of his blazing bat, but had been a shadow of that player in the opening two games before igniting in Sydney. The Heat must keep him in that rut and also get rid of Shaun Marsh cheaply.

Big Asset: We spoke before last round of the depth of the Heat batting order, which proved critical in the finish and will do so again. The addition of Kemar Roach for his first game gives the Heat critical firepower to make early breakthroughs again.

X-Factor: Perth had to play in Sydney on Sunday and now back up just two days later in Brisbane. The fatigue factor may play in the Heat's favour.

Incredible Fact: The team batting second has won nine times from nine games in BBL|02.

Teams, Heat: (from) James Hopes (capt), Chris Hartley, Chris Lynn, Luke Pomersbach, Kemar Roach, Ben Cutting, Alister McDermott, Cameron Gannon, Nathan Hauritz, Joe Burns, Dan Christian, Peter Forrest, Thisara Perera.

Scorchers: (from) Simon Katich (Captain), Michael Beer, Hilton Cartwright, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Herschelle Gibbs, Brad Hogg, Shaun Marsh, Joe Mennie, Marcus North, Marcus Stoinis, Alfonso Thomas, Tom Triffitt, Adam Voges, Ben Edmondson, Jason Behrendorff.

Top Stories

Kimmince celebrates a wicket in WBBL|01

Mandhana joins WBBL Heat