Responsive image

T20 Rules

T20 Rules

Haven't been to a Big Bash League game before? No problem, we've got you covered!

Big Bash League Rules

The KFC Big Bash League Season

The season runs from December 20 through to January 28, with 35 games played in 40 days.

At the end of the regular season the top four teams play off in the finals series.

The top four teams are decided by points. Two points are awarded for a win and one point to each team in the event of a tie or no result (game abandoned due to rain for example).

In the first semi-final the first placed team will play the fourth placed team. In the second semi-final the second placed team will play the third placed team.

The winners of each semi-final will then square-off in the final.

The highest finishing team for each of the finals matches is rewarded with a home final.

The KFC T20 BBL is a thrilling edge-of-your-seat entertainment spectacle – make sure you’re part of the action this summer.

Click here to view the Brisbane Heat's BBL|06 Fixtures.

The WBBL Season

The draw for the WBBL|02 season has been released with the Brisbane Heat to open our season against Sydney at North Sydney Oval live on Channel Ten. 

The Heat will play a total of six games in Brisbane including a massive double header with our men's side on Friday the 20th of January. 

The Brisbane Heat squad is mainly made up of local players who have a passion for representing their city, state and country. Some of our stars include Australian representatives Holly Ferling, Beth Mooney, Delissa Kimmince and Jess Jonassen. Each club is also allowed to contract two overseas players, with the Heat's international contingent to be announced in due course.

How the Game Works

How do you score runs?
Batters play in pairs with one located at each end of the pitch/wicket, standing behind a white painted line (the crease) that essentially marks out their safety zone. The aim of the batters is to hit the ball into a space away from the fielders (the opposition team’s players standing on the oval to field/catch the ball) and run from one end of the pitch to the other with their batting partner as many times as possible to score ‘runs’. =

The ultimate is when a batter hits the ball over the boundary (usually a white rope around the very edges of the oval) on the full, which entitles them to six runs. If the ball is hit into the boundary after bouncing or rolling along the field they get four runs.
Depending on the size of the ground an average score is around 140 to 170 runs.

How do you take wickets?

The aim of the bowler (and the fielding team in general) is to take wickets. This means ending the innings of one of the batters.

There are 10 ways a batter can ‘get out’ (or ‘lose his wicket’) in cricket but a few of them are very uncommon, so here we’ll focus on the five regular ‘modes of dismissal’.

First, is bowled. You’ll see three stumps at either end of the pitch, with two little ‘bails’ resting on top.

If the bowler gets the ball past the batsman, hits the stumps and the bails fall off, the batter is out.

Similarly, if the bowler delivers the ball, it is about to hit the stumps but the batter gets his leg in front of the ball, he can be given out ‘leg before wicket’ (LBW) – but that one is up to the umpire, who has a few factors to consider before making his decision.

Next on the list is ‘caught’, which is when a batter hits the ball – or the ball hits his gloves – and it goes to a fielder on the full, who catches the ball.

A batter is ‘run-out’ if he is out of his crease looking to score a run and a fielder throws the ball into the stumps, or similarly, he can be ‘stumped’ by the fielder wearing the gloves standing directly behind the stumps (the ‘wicketkeeper’). This involves the batter leaving his crease in trying to hit the ball, missing, and the wicketkeeper hitting the stumps with the ball.