WBBL|10 Season Revised to Shake Up Game

Cricket Australia has today announced a new structure for the Weber Women’s Big Bash League as the competition enters its tenth season later this year. The length of the competition has been revised to a 40-game regular season, consisting of ten home and away matches per team, plus three finals.

The revised format, which is now in line with the BBL, is part of Cricket Australia’s new Women and Girls Action Plan, developed to keep cricket at the forefront of the women’s sports revolution over the next ten years to grow participation, audiences, commercial revenue, and representation.  

The adjusted WBBL structure will make room for a new domestic women’s T20 competition, providing additional high-performance opportunities for players, and an 8% average increase in player salaries for 2024-25. 

The new structure for Weber WBBL|10 and beyond will also ensure enhanced scheduling and player availability, delivering a better competition for fans locally and globally. Every match will be televised, including 20 simulcasts on Foxtel and Seven with an additional 20 matches shown exclusively on Foxtel, with both Seven and Foxtel broadcasting the three finals. 

Queensland Cricket CEO, Terry Svenson, said the changes are vital to take girls and women’s cricket to the next level in Queensland.   

“The WBBL has played a pivotal role in transforming the cricket landscape in Queensland since the competition launched in 2015, but to be a world-leading sporting league for women, the WBBL must continuously evolve.” 

“We want our Brisbane Heat WBBL team to play in front of a full home crowd more often, and by reducing the number of games played, we will be able to deliver more fan-friendly fixtures, amplify the match day experience, and have more games broadcasted in primetime to grow the game now, and into the future.” 

To read more on Cricket Australia’s Women and Girls Action Plan, please click here

Principal Partners