WBBL Moment 5: Mackay Brings Heat | Brisbane Heat - BBL
Cricket network logo

WBBL Moment 5: Mackay Brings Heat

27 November 2018

With five days to go until the start of WBBL|04, we are counting down the five biggest Brisbane Heat moments from our Women’s Big Bash League history. First up is WBBL|03’s memorable trip to Mackay that saw the us greeted by big crowds, great action and amazing community support.

WATCH: Brisbane Heat Women vs. Melbourne Stars Women - Match Highlights


Mackay became the first city outside of Brisbane to host a Heat BBL or WBBL game when the club played two matches against the Melbourne Stars in WBBL|03.

Hosted under lights at Harrup Park, the two games set records for the most-attended Brisbane Heat stand-alone WBBL matches, with crowds of 3,657 and 4,138 witnessing T20 action of the highest order. 


The Harrup Park fixtures were held by the Heat in partnership with the Mackay Regional Council as part of the club’s commitment to engage fans from regional communities and grow the sport across the state.

Such was the success of the Mackay games; the Heat will head back to Harrup Park for another double header in WBBL|04. 

What they said...

“The crowds and support we saw in Mackay certainly vindicated our decision to play at Harrup Park.

“To see so many fans wearing Heat jerseys and creating an exciting atmosphere at the ground will live long in the memories of our players, many of whom hail from regional Queensland.

“We will no doubt see the true success of these matches in years to come when the young girls and boys who got the opportunity to meet their cricketing heroes continue to play the game and aspire to one day pull on the Heat jersey.” - Andrew McShea – Brisbane Heat General Manager

WATCH: WBBL04 Fixture


Click HERE for Brisbane Heat WBBL|04 Fixture.

2018-19 WBBL|04 Brisbane Heat Squad:

15. Jemma Barsby
23. Haidee Birkett
3. Josie Dooley
17. Grace Harris
4. Laura Harris
58. Sammy-Jo Johnson
21. Jess Jonassen
8. Charli Knott
11. Delissa Kimmince
96. Sune Luus (Int)
6. Beth Mooney
16. Georgia Prestwidge
10. Kirby Short
37. Courtney Sippel
14 Laura Wolvaardt.