Champions Thank Aussie Star | Brisbane Heat - BBL
Cricket network logo

Champions Thank Aussie Star

29 July 2020

The two-time WBBL championship winning Brisbane Heat have paid tribute to Queensland and Australian star Beth Mooney following her switch to the Perth Scorchers for the coming rebel Women's Big Bash League.

Queensland Cricket CEO Terry Svenson said Mooney's decision was not unexpected.

“After speaking with Beth and understanding her desire to expand her experiences in the WBBL and play with different people, under different coaches and encounter another program from the Australian one, the Brisbane Heat have not contracted her for WBBL|06,'' he said.

“Beth is a foundation member of the Heat’s WBBL team and has played a major role in the club’s recent success, highlighted by her Player of the Match performances in our successive grand final wins. We know she will make a significant contribution and we wish her every bit of success." 

“As an Australian contracted player, Beth has a choice on which state association she aligns with. As a proud and passionate Queenslander, we were very pleased that Beth recently signed for her 12th season as a valued member of the Queensland Fire where she continues as a senior player in the group.”

"The WBBL Heat squad will come together under coach Ashley Noffke in the coming weeks and we look forward to the season ahead, with Allan Border Field hosting the opening round of the competition on October 17 and 18,'' Svenson said.

Brisbane will host the repeat of last year’s Final between the Heat and Adelaide Strikers at Allan Border Field.
The Heat completed back-to-back titles with their six-wicket victory over Adelaide in front of a sold-out crowd.
The opening rounds in the Brisbane hub will also see the Melbourne Renegades and Sydney Sixers in action at Allan Border Field.
The WBBL will feature a record number of broadcast matches on Channel 7 and Foxtel, with 23 regular season matches and three finals to be shown.
The remaining 33 games will be streamed live on the CA Live app, and Kayo Sports.