Cricket network logo


Six Re-Sign with the Heat

04 October 2017

The Brisbane Heat have today looked to ensure a bright future ahead after securing the signatures of six current players.

WATCH: Joe Burns goes big vs the Stars

Joe Burns, Jimmy Peirson, Mitchell Swepson, Sam Heazlett, Mark Steketee and Marnus Labuschagne have re-signed with the Heat on multi-season deals, ensuring the core group of players who helped the Heat finish second on the KFC Big Bash League ladder in 2016-17 remain in Brisbane for the coming summer and beyond.

All six players are locally developed talent having come through the Queensland Cricket pathways system and remain one club players.

Speaking on the re-signing of the six players, Heat coach Daniel Vettori said, “We feel we are building something special with the current crop of players we have at the Brisbane Heat, and by re-signing Joe, Jimmy, Mitch, Mark, Sam and Marnus it gives our squad stability for the next few Big Bash League seasons.

“The nature of modern day T20 cricket means there will constantly be player turn-over from season to season, however if we can continue to keep our locally-based players together, then it will help develop the values and culture we are building at the club.

“It is fantastic we can reward someone like Joe Burns who was a key member of the Heat side that won the competition in BBL|02, while we also continue to invest in young talent like Sam Heazlett and Mitchell Swepson who have been recognised as international players."

 WATCH: Swepson On Hattrick at the MCG

With five positions still to be filled on the Heat's BBL|07 roster, Vettori and fellow Heat coach Shane Bond will look to finalise the club's squad and preparations for the coming summer when they are in Australia for the JLT One-Day Cup later this month.

The expanded 2017-18 KFC Big Bash League season will see the Heat play 10 home and away fixtures, with the club’s opening fixture against the Melbourne Stars at the Gabba on Wednesday the 20th of December. 

A limited number of club memberships are still available, while tickets for this are on sale from Monday October 16th. 

Heat Player Re-Signings Fast Facts

Joe Burns
- New 3-year contract
- 33 games for the Heat, 742 runs
- 2nd highest run-scorer in Heat history
- Stand-in captain during BBL|06

Jimmy Peirson
- 3-year contract extension
- 25 Brisbane Heat games, 422 runs plus 17 dismissals

Mitchell Swepson
- 3-year contract extension
- 11 Brisbane Heat games, 16 wickets
- Australian Test tourist to India and Bangladesh

Mark Steketee
- 3-year contract extension
- 22 Brisbane Heat games, 27 wickets
- 3rd most wickets in Heat history

Sam Heazlett
- 3-year contract extension
- 7 Brisbane Heat games, strike-rate of 137
- Made his Australian One-Day International debut vs New Zealand in February 2017

Marnus Labuschagne
- 3-year contract extension
- 3 Brisbane Heat games
- Middle order batsman and leg-spinner
- 2016 Domestic One-Day Cup Player of the Year

Brisbane Heat BBL|07 Squad:
Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, Jason Floros, Sam Heazlett, Shadab Khan (International), Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Lalor, Chris Lynn, Brendon McCullum (International, Captain), Jimmy Peirson, Alex Ross, Mitchell Swepson, Mark Steketee. 


WATCH: Heat signings in 360°

Top Stories

Delissa Kimmince Beth Mooney