Heat Set For Semi-Final | Brisbane Heat - BBL
Cricket network logo

Heat Set For Semi-Final

26 November 2020

The WBBL Brisbane Heat will continue to back their all-round depth ahead of tonight’s rebel Women’s Big Bash League semi-final against the Sydney Thunder at North Sydney Oval.

The Heat have named an unchanged squad of 13 to prepare for the clash that will determine whether they can progress to their third Final in a row.

The two-time champions would meet the Melbourne Stars if they were successful in defeating the Thunder after the Stars overcame the Perth Scorchers in a low-scoring semi-final encounter last night.

Brisbane lost its initial game against the Thunder in a rain-affected clash before starting a seven-match winning streak with an eight-wicket win in the return match.

The Heat have a solid record against the Thunder, winning four of their past six encounters. The teal team also has the second highest win/loss record of all teams in Sydney at 60 percent, sitting behind only the Sydney Sixers.

Wicket-keeper Georgia Redmayne is the leading runs-scorer for Brisbane with 332 while batting finisher Laura Kimmince was named in the Team of the Tournament earlier this week after a string of match-shaping innings.

Spinners Amelia Kerr and captain Jess Jonassen have claimed 16 wickets each and allrounder Grace Harris, who finished fourth in the player of the tournament standings, has 13 dismissals to illustrate the breadth of match-winners across its line-up.

Heat coach Ashley Noffke said they were feeling positive heading into the semi-final.

“We’re a pretty happy bunch and as a squad, we’ve enjoyed each other’s success along the way in the tournament, so we’re looking forward to the semi-final,’’ he said.

Rebel WBBL Semi-Final
Brisbane Heat v Sydney Thunder
TONIGHT, 26 November 2020
North Sydney Oval, 6.10pm Qld time.

WBBL Brisbane Heat Squad

21. Jess Jonassen (c)
5. Maddy Green
44. Nicola Hancock
17. Grace Harris
48. Amelia Kerr
11. Delissa Kimmince
4. Laura Kimmince
32. Nadine de Klerk
88. Charli Knott
16. Georgia Prestwidge
8. Georgia Redmayne
37. Courtney Sippel
19. Georgia Voll

Live coverage nationwide on Seven, Foxtel, Kayo and ABC Radio.