Trio in Test Squad | Brisbane Heat - BBL
Cricket network logo

Trio in Test Squad

11 September 2018

The Brisbane Heat will boast three members of the Australian touring squad to take on Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates next month.

Brendan Doggett, who would become just the second Indigenous player to play Test cricket for Australia if chosen, and Marnus Labuschagne have been included alongside Matthew Renshaw in the 15-man squad.

Batsman Joe Burns missed selection after being in Australia’s most recent Test team for the final Test against South Africa earlier in the year.

Pace bowler Doggett and batsman Labuschagne are currently on tour with Australia ‘A’ and playing on the last day of the second first class match of the tour.

Speaking on the squad, National Selector Trevor Hohns said:

“There has been significant change to our Test squad, due to the unavailability of a number of key players,” Hohns said.

“There are five potential debutants in the squad, all of whom have earned selection through their performances and deserve this opportunity.”

On the yet-to-debut players – Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Michael Neser, Marcus Labuschagne and Brendan Doggett - Hohns said:

“Marnus is a young player with plenty of potential and a great work ethic. He has performed well in the Sheffield Shield, has shown he’s a good player of spin for Australia A in India, and is an elite fielder who offers added variety with the ball as a leg-spin option.

“Brendan is an exciting prospect, a fast bowler with raw pace and wicket-taking ability. He provides an additional option to Mitchell Starc if extra pace is called for, and this is an ideal opportunity to get him involved in a national set-up for the first time after his recent showings for Queensland and Australia A.”

The squad will assemble in Brisbane for a pre-tour camp on 16 September.

29 September - October 2: warm-up match v Pakistan A, ICC Academy, Dubai
7-11 October: 1st Test v Pakistan, Dubai International Stadium
16-20 October: 2nd Test v Pakistan, Sheikh Zayed Stadium, Abu Dhabi


Qantas Tour of UAE - Test Squad


Tim Paine (C)


Ashton Agar

Western Australia

Brendan Doggett


Aaron Finch


Travis Head

South Australia

Jon Holland


Usman Khawaja


Marnus Labuschagne


Nathan Lyon

New South Wales

Mitchell Marsh

Western Australia

Shaun Marsh

Western Australia

Michael Neser


Matthew Renshaw


Peter Siddle


Mitchell Starc

New South Wales