Lalor Re-Signs | Brisbane Heat - BBL
Cricket network logo

Lalor Re-Signs

07 September 2018

The Brisbane Heat have re-signed canny left-arm pace bowler Josh Lalor for the coming KFC Big Bash League summer.

Lalor, a Heat squad member since 2015, adds variety and experience to Brisbane’s squad, which now contains 16 players for BBL|08.

A Coaching and Talent Manager with Cricket NSW, Lalor has spent the past week training in Brisbane during the State camps and will extend his playing commitment tomorrow when he turns out for Redlands in the Bulls Masters Queensland Premier Cricket competion.

WATCH: Lalor's two early wickets vs Strikers


Heat coach Dan Vettori said Lalor’s versatility in adjusting to different playing conditions had made his retention a given for the coming season.

“We’ve got some games in new venues this summer as well as more matches, so Josh complements our attack really well, whether it is on a drop-in wicket at a venue we haven’t played at, or at the likes of the Gabba or SCG,’’ he said.

“Having a left-armer fits in nicely with our plans, and his experience and skill definitely helps especially with working alongside some of the younger bowlers in the squad.”

Lalor has played in the BBL with Perth and the Sydney Thunder and Sixers, as well as first class and one-day cricket for NSW.

He has an economy rate of 7.78 for the Heat, having taking 11 wickets in 14 games for the Heat including a haul of 3-40 against Adelaide last summer.

Vettori said the club was working on its final spots including a second international recruit.

The Heat have announced the following contracted players for BBL|08:

Max Bryant, Joe Burns, Ben Cutting, Brendan Doggett, Sam Heazlett, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Lalor, Chris Lynn, Brendon McCullum (int), James Pattinson, Jimmy Peirson, Jack Prestwidge, Matthew Renshaw, Alex Ross, Mark Steketee, Mitch Swepson.

BBL|08 Premium Tickets on Sale Now!

Premium ticket packages for this summer’s BBL are now available from Ticketek here.

Tickets for premium areas such as The Toyota Hot Spot, Luxe Lounge, Straight Hit, Diamond Mid-Tier and Hit 105 Hit Zone at the Gabba and new offerings at Metricon Stadium where the Heat will play two matches this season.

The Metricon Stadium packages apply to The Dugout, The Captain’s Club. The Lounge, The Rooftop and the Toyota Deck.

The Heat will open BBL|08 at the Gabba when they host defending champions Adelaide Strikers on Wednesday 19 December in the first game of the competition, followed by back to back matches at Metricon Stadium against Hobart Hurricanes (Saturday 22 December) and a New Year’s Day clash with the Sydney Sixers.

General public tickets will go on sale in early October.