Lynn Named In Squad For BBL Opener | Brisbane Heat - BBL
Cricket network logo


Lynn Named In Squad For BBL Opener

19 December 2017

The Brisbane Heat have included three newcomers and welcomed back experienced paceman Josh Lalor for their opening match of the KFC Big Bash League against the Melbourne Stars at the Gabba tomorrow night.

Lalor missed the bulk of BBL|06 last year with a side strain, with his last game for the Heat coming in 2016 when he played in a Heat win over the Stars in Melbourne.

Pakistan leg-spinner Shadab Khan will make his BBL debut for the Heat.

The squad released today also includes my FootDr Queensland Bulls paceman Brendan Doggett who will also make his BBL debut for the Heat if named in the starting side.

WATCH: Chris Lynn Clears the Gabba

Rising Norths fast bowler Jack Prestwidge has been named as an injury replacement for allrounder Cameron Valente who is recovering from a bruised foot.

The BBL Technical Committee approved Prestwidge as a replacement player today, meaning that under BBL guidelines he must be included in the 13-man squad for the next game.

Prestwidge, 21, was announced as the Heat Rookie last week and if he plays tomorrow, will also be a debutant.

He becomes the third member of the Prestwidge family involved with the Heat club this summer, with sister Georgia and father Scott (assistant coach) part of the WBBL Heat squad.

Batsman Chris Lynn has been named in the 13-man squad after training without incident last night as he returns from off-season shoulder surgery

The starting team will be named at the toss tomorrow evening at 5.55pm ahead of the 6.40pm start.

Gates open at 5pm with tickets on sale through Fans are urged to pre-purchase and print their tickets out ahead of the game to avoid queuing and to take advantage of the free public transport to the Gabba through TransLink.

Tomorrow night will be the first pre-Christmas BBL game at the venue since BBL|05 when the Heat hoisted the Renegades on 19 December. A crowd of 27,507 attended that evening.

KFC Big Bash League
Brisbane Heat v Melbourne Stars
Wednesday Dec 20, the Gabba, 6.40pm (Qld time)

#42 Brendon McCullum (c)
#15 Joe Burns
#31 Ben Cutting
#35 Brendan Doggett
#47 Sam Heazlett
#2 Josh Lalor
#50 Chris Lynn
#59 Jimmy Peirson
#14 Jack Prestwidge
#49 Alex Ross
#7 Shadab Khan
#6 Mark Steketee
#4 Mitchell Swepson

Download the Heat VR Mobile app to use our new Face Fliters!