Lynn to lead Cricket Australia XI against Pakistan | Brisbane Heat - BBL
Cricket network logo

Lynn to lead Cricket Australia XI against Pakistan

25 October 2019

Brisbane Heat captain Chris Lynn will lead an exciting Cricket Australia XI side in their Twenty20 match against Pakistan at Bankstown Oval next Thursday, 31 October.

The clash will serve as a lead-up fixture to Pakistan’s three-match Gillette T20 International Series against Australia, which begins on Sunday, 3 November.
Lynn is the most experienced player in the 12-man squad, which features 10 players with current KFC Big Bash League contracts.
Among them are vice-captain Will Sutherland, one of a trio of Melbourne Renegades players alongside Mackenzie Harvey and Jake Fraser-McGurk, while Sydney Thunder’s Chris Green and Alex Ross are also included.
A quartet of Sydney Sixers bowlers – Ben Dwarshuis, Mickey Edwards, Lloyd Pope and Dan Fallins – ensure the bowling attack contains variety and depth.
Queensland’s Nathan McSweeney and NSW rookie-contracted wicketkeeper Baxter Holt, who made his debut for the Sydney Thunder last season, round out the squad.
Commenting on the squad, Cricket Australia National Talent and Pathway Manager, Graham Manou, said:
“We’re pleased to provide another opportunity for some of Australia’s brightest talent to showcase themselves against the touring Pakistan side.
“A match against international opposition provides an ideal opportunity for these players to test and hone their skills in the lead up to the KFC Big Bash League.
“This is also an opportunity for Chris Lynn to demonstrate the leadership skills which have seen him elevated to the captaincy of the Brisbane Heat in recent years.

“We will look to him to share his knowledge and experience with a promising group of young cricketers in this match.”

The Cricket Australia XI clash with Pakistan will be held on Thursday, 31 October from 2:30pm AEDT at Bankstown Oval, Bankstown. Entry is free of charge.
Cricket Australia XI squad: Chris Lynn (c), Will Sutherland (vc), Baxter Holt (wk), Mackenzie Harvey, Alex Ross, Nathan McSweeney, Jake Fraser-McGurk, Chris Green, Ben Dwarshuis, Mickey Edwards, Lloyd Pope, Dan Fallins