BBL Fixture Update | Brisbane Heat - BBL
Cricket network logo

BBL Fixture Update

13 January 2022

The Brisbane Heat will finish their regular KFC Big Bash League season with an additional match in Melbourne with the release today by Cricket Australia of a revised BBL draw.

The Heat will play back to back games in Melbourne on Sunday and now Monday, before returning to Brisbane to play their postponed match against the Sydney Sixers at the Gabba next Wednesday.

The switch means their match against the Perth Scorchers, originally scheduled for the Gabba next week, will instead be played at Marvel Stadium in Melbourne on Monday night.

The Heat will play the Stars on Sunday at the MCG.

An extended squad will assemble in Melbourne today and tomorrow as the remaining players sidelined with COVID-19 are re-integrated into the playing group.

Brisbane came off second best last night as an inspired Rashid Khan claimed the third-best bowling figures in the BBL to sweep the Adelaide Strikers to a 71 run win and leave the Heat winless at the Gabba so far this season.

The match was also the last for the Heat for Afghanistan spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman as he has been called in for the international series against the Netherlands in the UAE.

Pakistan international batsman Fakhar Zaman will be available for the remaining three regular season games for the Heat, including the Sixers match at the Gabba.

These fixture changes follow the previously announced schedule adjustments for the period of January 10-16 and the move for Clubs to be primarily based out of Victoria.

All changes have been made to prioritise the health and safety of all players, match officials, staff, fans and the wider community while also providing greater flexibility and operational efficiency for the League and Clubs.

The revised schedule for January 17-19 is:

  • January 17, 4:35pm ACDT: Adelaide Strikers v Sydney Sixers, Adelaide Oval. Seven, Foxtel & Kayo
  • January 17, 8:15pm AEDT: Brisbane Heat v Perth Scorchers, Marvel Stadium. Seven, Foxtel & Kayo
  • January 18, 7:15pm AEDT: Hobart Hurricanes v Melbourne Renegades, Marvel Stadium. Seven, Foxtel & Kayo
  • January 19, 12:05pm AEST: Brisbane Heat v Sydney Sixers, Gabba. Foxtel & Kayo
  • January 19, 4:10pm AEDT: Sydney Thunder v Melbourne Renegades, Melbourne Cricket Ground. Seven, Foxtel & Kayo
  • January 19, 7:50pm AEDT: Melbourne Stars v Hobart Hurricanes, Melbourne Cricket Ground. Seven, Foxtel & Kayo