Captain Short and Star Johnson Re-Sign | Brisbane Heat - BBL
Cricket network logo

Captain Short and Star Johnson Re-Sign

15 August 2019

The championship WBBL Brisbane Heat have confirmed captain Kirby Short and allrounder Sammy-Jo Johnson will again don the teal on the same day as tickets go on sale for the coming season.

Johnson, who enjoyed a break-out season for the Heat on the way to their maiden rebel Women’s Big Bash League title, and skipper Short will join Grace Harris and internationals Beth Mooney, Jess Jonassen and Delissa Kimmince in the Heat ranks again.

After four successful seasons running alongside the men’s tournament, WBBL05 will take place in a stand-alone window for the first time, running from October to December for the first time in its own distinct window on the summer of cricket calendar.

The Heat will play all their Brisbane matches at Allan Border Field this summer, as well as capitalising on two successful visits to Mackay in as many seasons to head north to Great Barrier Reef Arena once again.

The Heat will present one of the series of WBBL “festival” rounds at Allan Border Field, with Brisbane joined by Hobart, Adelaide and Perth in a brace of double-headers on 26 and 27 October.

WBBL Heat coach Ashley Noffke said the club had made solid progress in finalizing its 15-player squad for the coming summer.

“We’re quite close to having the squad ready to roll,’’ he said. “It’s been a busy winter for a lot of the girls with the Women’s Ashes and Australia ‘A’ tours and locally the Konica Minolta Queensland Fire doing their off-season preparations, but the Heat side of things has been progressing nicely.”

Johnson performed strongly on the Australia ‘A’ tour to the United Kingdom as she continued on from her stand-out season in WBBL|04 where she was third on the team’s run-scorers list and took 20 wickets to be the second leading wicket-taker for the side.

The Heat will also host the Melbourne Renegades on November 27 at Allan Border Field.

WBBL Heat tickets at Allan Border Field will be $10 for adults, $5 for concession with children admitted  with a free ticket available at the point of purchase.

Tickets will be available through

Brisbane will take on the Adelaide Strikers in matches on 2 and 3 November in Mackay, with both matches being free admission.

The WBBL05 season begins on Friday 18 October 2019 with a Sydney Derby between the Sixers and Thunder at North Sydney Oval.

Brisbane Heat BBL fans will be able to access KFC Big Bash League tickets from 17 October.

WBBL|05 Brisbane Heat squad to date: Sammy-Jo Johnson, Kirby Short, Grace Harris, Jess Jonassen, Delissa Kimmince, Beth Mooney.