Burns, Denly, Laughlin in Squad | Brisbane Heat - BBL
Cricket network logo

Burns, Denly, Laughlin in Squad

01 January 2021

The Brisbane Heat have included Australian batsman Joe Burns in a 19-man squad for tomorrow night's important KFC Big Bash League match against the Sydney Sixers at the Gabba.




Burns will resume his BBL career with the Heat following his omission from the Australian squad for the Third Vodafone Test match at the SCG.

A decision on whether he starts the match against the Sixers will be made prior to the the bat flip when the 13-man squad is confirmed.

"We've had a few chats with Joey and we'll see how he is going tomorrow before the game,'' Heat coach Darren Lehmann said.

"He's keen to get in and help out so we're certainly looking forward to having him back around the group again."

Burns, an injury replacement in the Heat's inaugural year, has played at least one BBL game in each of the ensuring 10 seasons.

Experienced paceman Ben Laughlin also comes into the squad after completing requirements to return to the team's bio-secure hotel environment. Laughlin was granted permission to leave the bubble to be with his family at Christmas.

WATCH: BBL10 Innings Break - DJ Heater

The BBL Technical Committee today ratified some squad adjustments with replacement player Lachy Pfeffer going out of the squad following Burns' return.

However, with Heat captain Chris Lynn still recovering from a lower grade hamstring strain, he has in turn been replaced in the squad by Pfeffer.

Paceman Morne Morkel has also resumed training after a two-week quarantine period due to the Sydney Northern Beaches COVID-19 breakout.

Morkel, who is on the comeback track from ankle surgery, is continuing to build towards a playing return.

The clash with the competition leading Sydney Sixers at the Gabba tomorrow night will begin at the later start time of 7.15pm Qld time.

Brisbane Heat Squad
v Sydney Sixers
Sat 2 Jan 2021 | 7:15PM | The Gabba

19. Xavier Bartlett
7. James Bazley
15. Joe Burns
17. Max Bryant
26. Tom Cooper
16. Joe Denly (Eng)
48. Lewis Gregory (Eng)
5. Sam Heazlett
30. Matthew Kuhnemann
55. Ben Laughlin
59. Jimmy Peirson (c)
8. Lachy Pfeffer
39. Simon Milenko
27. Jack Sinfield
6. Mark Steketee
42. Connor Sully
88. Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Afg)
24. Jack Wildermuth
45. Jack Wood