Cricket network logo

WBBL Heat Stars set for World Cup

27 April 2017

A trio of WBBL Heat stars have their sights on World Cup glory following the release today of the preliminary Australian squad for the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup in England.

Incumbent Southern Stars players Beth Mooney and Jess Jonassen have been joined in the extended 21-player Australian squad by pace bowler Holly Ferling.

Ferling has her sights on completing a successful return from injury after an interrupted summer after being an Australian regular in 2015. Ferling, who had elbow surgery towards the end of the Rebel Women’s Big Bash League, has been back in full training for the past month.

Mooney is coming off a stand-out series against New Zealand. Mooney was named the player of the series for the Rose Bowl, becoming the first Queenslander to score a women’s ODI century for Australia in the opening game, and scoring half centuries in the other two matches to finish with 226 runs at 75.33.

The final 15-player squad will be selected following a three-week training camp at the Bupa National Cricket Centre in Brisbane from 24 April – 12 May.

Another massive summer awaits! 5 home WBBL games + a huge @HeatBBL double header! Details #TurnUpTheHeat #WBBL03

Following selection of the squad, National Selector Shawn Flegler said: “We are really excited about players that have been chosen in this initial squad and are looking forward to seeing them put their best foot forward over the next three weeks.

“There’s some great depth in the squad with the more experienced players complimented by a number of new faces who have shown they can hold their own at this level.

“The ICC Women’s Championship showed us how tough this year’s tournament is going to be and the players know they’re going to have to be at the top of their game to win the title.”

Australia will be looking to make a strong start to their campaign which begins on 26 June against the West Indies at The Country Ground, Taunton.  

England, New Zealand, West Indies, India, South Africa, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will join Australia in the tournament with each side to face off against the other seven nations concluding with semi-finals at Bristol and Derby before the final at Lords on 23 July.

Australia are the defending champions having won a record sixth World Cup in 2013 after defeating the West Indies by 114 runs in the final in India. 

Top Stories

Delissa Kimmince Beth Mooney