WBBL Squad for Round One Named | Brisbane Heat - BBL
Cricket network logo

WBBL Squad for Round One Named

08 December 2017

The WBBL Brisbane Heat will open their Rebel Women’s Big Bash League campaign on Sunday at North Sydney Oval against the team that knocked them out of last year’s semi-finals.

The Heat take on the Perth Scorchers, which finished as runners-up to champions Sydney Sixers, on Sunday morning as part of the stand-alone opening weekend of WBBL|03.

The Heat today released their 13-player squad for the opening match, which features international recruits Deandra Dottin (West Indies) and South African teen Laura Wolvaardt.

Australian Women’s players Jess Jonassen, Beth Mooney and Delissa Kimmince all featured in the squads that helped Australia retain the Women’s Ashes last month.

Returning to the squad is Sunshine Coast pace bowler Courtney Hill, who missed the bulk of last season with a foot injury.

Speaking at yesterday’s WBBL launch, reigning player of the year Beth Mooney said the expectations were high for the squad.

“The first season we just missed out on the semis, we went one better last season but were still really disappointed to go out of the tournament the way that we did, so we need to make sure we are moving forward and being positive throughout this season,’’ she said.

“The competition will be tightly contested this year. The Perth Scorchers have a really good list with some world class performers but hopefully we can get one up on them,’’ Mooney said.

Mooney will take the gloves for the Heat as well as bat in the top order alongside captain Kirby Short and Wolvaardt.

The team will train at North Sydney Oval No.2 between 10am and 12pm tomorrow.

Sunday’s match will be broadcast live on Network Ten from 9.45am Qld time. 

WATCH: Deandra Dottin Smashes the Sixers

The blockbuster opening weekend for the Rebel WBBL|03 will launch the Big Bash summer, following the resounding success of the second season of the WBBL.

The carnival-style weekend across Saturday and Sunday will feature four matches in Sydney, broadcast live on Network Ten’s main channel, as well as two matches in Adelaide that will be livestreamed.

Across the season, 12 matches of the WBBL will be broadcast on Network Ten, with all remaining matches livestreamed on the CA Live platform.

The Heat will play their first home match next Friday 15 December at Allan Border Field from 2pm.

Rebel Women’s Big Bash League

WBBL Brisbane Heat v Perth Scorchers

North Sydney Oval, Sunday, 9.45am start (Qld time) LIVE & FREE TO AIR ON NETWORK TEN

10. Kirby Short (c)
15. Jemma Barsby
23. Haidee Birkett
5. Deandra Dottin
9. Holly Ferling
4. Laura Harris
22. Courtney Hill
58. Sammy Jo Johnson
21. Jess Jonassen
11. Delissa Kimmince
6. Beth Mooney
16. Georgia Prestwidge
14. Laura Wolvaardt
Coach: Peter McGiffin.
Asst coach: Scott Prestwidge

Word on the Heat - Favourite Karaoke Song