WBBL Heat Name New Faces | Brisbane Heat - BBL
Cricket network logo

WBBL Heat Name New Faces

18 October 2019

The championship WBBL Brisbane Heat are poised to unveil as many as five debutants for this weekend’s historic opening Rebel Women’s Big Bash League weekend.

With the competition moving to a stand-alone event for the first time, the Heat have named their 13-player squad for their clashes with the Sydney Sixers and Sydney Thunder at North Sydney Oval tomorrow and Sunday.

International recruits Amelia Kerr and Maddy Green have been included in the squad alongside teenagers Charli Knott and Courtney Sippel and former Hobart Hurricanes and NSW batter Mikayla Hinkley.
The Australian trio of Jess Jonassen, Beth Mooney and Delissa Kimmince will turn their attentions from being part of Australia’s 18-game ODI winning streak to taking on their recent national teammates in the Sixers and Thunder squads.

Knott, 16, will be the second youngest WBBL Heat player should she take the field over the weekend.
Sippel, 18, has forced her way into squad past Haidee Birkett for the opening round, with the pace bowling allrounder looking to make her senior debut.

Hinkley, 21, relocated to Queensland during the off-season and joins the Heat after previous WBBL stints with the Perth Scorchers, Hobart Hurricanes and Sydney Thunder where she was a member of the squad that claimed the inaugural title.
Allan Border Field will host the next WBBL “festival” rounds at Allan Border Field next Saturday and Sunday, with Brisbane joined by Hobart, Adelaide and Perth in a brace of double-headers on 26 and 27 October.
Tickets for the Festival weekend are on sale now through Ticketek.com.au

WBBL Heat tickets at Allan Border Field are $10 for adults, $5 for concession with children admitted with a free ticket available at the point of purchase.

V Sydney Sixers (tomorrow, 6.10pm Qld time), Sydney Thunder (Sunday, 1pm Qld time)
North Sydney Oval

Tomorrow’s match against the Sixers will be broadcast live on 7 Mate while Sunday’s match against the Thunder will be shown live on Channel 7.